A couple of figs and some other things I threw in my basket

Working at Macknade means that sometimes on my break I walk through the store and just pick up random things. I really only popped over to the Deli for some Shropshire Blue to put in my sandwich and I ended up buying some Shaggy’s Beard, a pomegranate, a couple of figs and a bag of baby leaf as well. I had no idea what I was going to do with my bounty – except make a sandwich with the Shropshire Blue.

Now I’m no chef (and well we know what happened to the peppers), but there’s always at least two cooks in our kitchen at Macknade, so I asked them. Conclusion was to put the cheese in the figs and bake them. This seems fool proof. Surely I can’t mess this up. Not again. So I tried once more:

  • Preheat fan assisted oven to 170ºC – ish
  • Cut a cross in the figs, but be careful not to cut all the way through – or basically ya cheese is just gonna go everywhere.
  • Put goat’s cheese in fig – admittedly I regret not putting more cheese in the fig, so go ahead and stuff those figs good.
  • Tin foil those bad boys. Yup, this is key to not losing all that cheese you just stuffed in that tiny fig (at least this way if it does seep out the sides you can scoop it back up and put it on top quite swiftly…or lick the tin foil, which was my preference).img_6953
  • Bake for about 20 mins, when it starts smelling like dinner time.
  • During this time, halve a pomegranate and put the seeds of one half in a pan.
  • Now this is where the measurements get a bit squiffy.
  • In said pan also put, a drizzle or so of honey (I’d guess at 2 tbsp), two good slugs of white wine vinegar (in that it was supposed to be about a tbsp but I definitely just sloshed a whole load in it, let’s say 3 tbsp), balance this out with 3 tbsp of ground nut oil, a tsp of whole grain mustard and some salt’n’pepper.
  • Cook until thickened (about as long as it takes for the figs to be ready).
  • Put leaves on a plate, put figs on the leaves, put dressing over the top.
  • Realise you’ve made too much dressing, and put half in a bottle for lunch tomorrow.

Nailed it. Looks good, tastes better. After the pepper fiasco my confidence is restored. Will try to keep better check on my measurements for the next recipe!

Leave a Comment

