Clean Eating’s Dirty Secrets – Am I a nutritionist now?

My boss recently suggested I watch a documentary on the BBC Clean Eating’s Dirty Secrets about the phenomenon of clean eating. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that my vegetarianism wasn’t a raw eating, healthy lifestyle diet that I was following in an attempt to shed a few pounds. But I thought what the heck, I’ll give it a watch anyway and maybe I’ll learn something about nutrition.

Nutrition is a real concern for me at the moment. I love a convenience food. A good snack. But as it turns out, it’s actually more convenient to find meat based and unhealthy snacks packed with a thousand ingredients I’ve never heard of, than something vegetarian friendly and nutritious. This means more time on the Internet looking for quick recipes, more time Googling ingredients and generally a lot more time thinking about food. As if I didn’t think about it enough.

After watching the documentary I found myself a bit confused; happy that the number of vegan and vegetarians have tripled in the last 10 years vs. sad that this has been in part due to fad diets taking advantage of the vulnerable and impressionable. Apparently clean living is big business and big money for the so-called “nutritionists”. Yup! As highlighted by the programme, a lot of the healthy bloggers I’ve been stealing recipes from, have just as little of a clue about nutrition as I do. In fact anyone can be a certified nutritionist with as little as 20hrs online studying. I think this means I’m going to have to learn all this the hard way.

Instead of turning to my usually trusted bloggers for advice I decided to ask a doctor – sort of. The NHS have a handy guide on the vegetarian diet and highlight iron, B12 and Omega 3 as the usual deficiencies when not eating meat, fish and poultry. Luckily, this can all be overcome with a bit of broccoli, Marmite and walnuts. Phew! Staying healthy certainly isn’t going to be an issue for me and I’m pretty sure this makes me a nutritionist now.

 

Leave a Comment

