Zen

Just this week my friend XO NIN posted an article on mindfulness, and it reminded me how much I have been neglecting my inner well being. Last year, I started attending yoga classes twice a week and practiced at home daily. This went out of the window whilst I was in Lapland, I was simply too busy and drained to find time to meditate. When I arrived back home, I couldn’t get back into the swing of things. I’d returned to the gym, but I was more focussed on the physical side of things.

I mentioned recently that I’ve been feeling under the weather, that getting out on the mountain really helps me to clear my mind and feel whole again. But the sensation is short lived. So instead of hitting the slopes today, I found a mountainside yoga retreat and got in a couple of hours meditation and some much needed stretching. I returned to my room chilled, I reorganised my belongings, I made paper boxes for my stationery, snacks, toiletries, etc. I can’t put my finger on it, but the whole afternoon has just made me feel different. There appears to be less mayhem in my life, yet nothing has really changed.

I’m determined to keep it up, I might not be able to attend the class again, but I’m going to try and get my meditation beads out more often. It’s time to focus not just on my physical well being, but on being more mindful too. Thanks for the prompting Nin, you’re forever saving my soul, namaste.

2 thoughts on “Zen

Leave a Comment

