Venturing into the Unknown

Tomorrow morning, or tonight, depending on how you feel about 3am, I’ll be leaving for the airport to catch my flight to Geneva. When I tell people I have a contract to work the ski season in the Alps, people are naturally full of questions. Who are you working with? What are you doing? Where are you going? When do you leave? But I can’t answer any of their questions – only the when (and I only found that out a week ago). This shocks most people, and somewhere between thinking I’m a crazy fool or the ultimate cool, they chuckle uncomfortably.

Ya see, when I arrive at the airport, I’ll be given my placement, my job title and my resort. “Isn’t that a bit scary?” the people ask. No! Look at it like being a spy. Upon arrival at my destination, I will locate my agent and I will receive my mission, hopefully in a briefcase with a gun in it. This makes me Bond. I’m Bond now.

To me the unknown is just like getting lost. It’s an unplanned adventure. I don’t know where I’m going now. I don’t know where I’m going later. I just know I’m going. And really that’s all that matters. Continuing the adventure. Never giving up. I think everyone should venture into the unknown – it makes for the best stories.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’
‘That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
‘I don’t much care where -‘ said Alice.
‘Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.
‘- so long as I get SOMEWHERE,’ Alice added as an explanation.
‘Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, ‘if you only walk long enough.”
― Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland
Leave a Comment

